Coach Kimmie’s Culmination – 2 months of hard work, focus & sharing!

From March 23rd until May 25th, I was on a mission. A mission to increase my running speed, decrease my overall body fat/weight, increase my REAL FOOD intake, eliminate my CRAP food intake, break a few troublesome habits, run a sub2 hour 1/2 marathon and share the journey… All while staying injury-free and proving that strength/crosstraining & myofascial care combined with 2 runs per week could DEFINITELY help me reach my goals. Our nutritionist, Samantha Grant, was a HUGE help as well. www.SamFGrant.com    I also tossed in a few VERY HELPFUL acupuncture treatments with the famous Laura Drago & a massage or two with Bracha and Liz at Kinesis 🙂

All of those goals except one ACTUALLY happened!!

This was my weight April 1, 2014.

Image

 

And most of you haven’t seen this picture but this was my weight May 24, 2014. Yes. 14.8 pounds. And, 153 was my initial “goal” regarding weight. I lost 11 pounds in April and dropped another (slower, harder to get rid of) 3.8 in May.

Image

 

Here’s a link to ALL my recent photos on facebook. This is where I shared a lot about my training, food choices, cooking, daily “speedbumps” or problems, etc.  If you’re interested… https://www.facebook.com/CoachKimmie/photos_all

 

Maybe you saw this from last month’s post but here’s my April recap. https://kinesisliving.wordpress.com/2014/05/07/coach-kimmies-coach-amped-up-april/

Here’s a sweet shot my bestie Jennifer took of me and Dawn at the end of our race last Sunday. I’m so proud of Dawn for 1) committing to attempting to run the whole 13.1 miles 2) for knowing she MIGHT have to drop out and 3) for KILLING the course despite having that crazy crush injury to her foot less than 2 months ago! She had ZERO pain and finished in a very respectable time!! https://kinesisliving.wordpress.com/2014/04/17/plot-twist/ This is the link to her foot injury blog…

Image

 

And THESE 3!!! Imagine my surprise as I’m (thankfully!!) sprinting down the finish chute at the race and see these gorgeous smiling faces yelling at me to keep going! They brought me flowers and were holding up signs for me.  Wow. So grateful for clients who go out of their way to be supportive… Thank you Nadine, Betty and Diane…

 

 

 

Image

 

My amazing Bia watch at the end of the race. Find out more about this sweet product at http://bia-sport.com!  Despite the fact that I wanted that watch to read “1:59:59  13.19 mi  9:00-9:15 average pace/mi” I realized that even though I didn’t meet my sub2 hour goal, I DID reach many other goals in these last 2 months.  I learned that there are only so many things I can control 🙂  My nerves and stomach are 2 of those things I have yet to manage! However, I am SO PROUD of myself for sticking to a plan, training MYSELF, gaining speed and strength, & learning to push past discomfort in my MIND. I know that I did EVERYTHING possible to reach this time goal and it just wasn’t meant to be. I WILL reach it someday. Until then, I’m A-OK with what I’ve accomplished.

Image

 

POST-RACE:

I immediately ate 1/2 banana, 3 orange slices and 3 small pieces of watermelon. I drank chugged about 12-15 ounces of water. The race had coordinated to have food trucks at the end of the race. We found a fabulous one called “Scratch”  http://www.scratchventura.com and they had a GREAT bacon, egg and cheese on grilled GLUTEN FREE BREAD!! Holy. Crap. Best. Sandwich. Ever. I ate the heck outta that sandwich!!

Later that afternoon, we went to a BBQ and pool party in Thousand Oaks. Tasty/healthy meats, lots of clean side dishes and I chose to try this little drink below.  I had my 1st one mixed with the tiniest bit of tequila EVER. Yumm!! I knew I didn’t want to feel crappy the next day so no more alcohol but I did drink a total of 4 of these little guys over a few hours! Yep. You’re reading the label correctly – 32 GRAMS OF SUGAR PER CAN!! But it was so bubbly, refreshing, tasty that I couldn’t stop drinking them!! And I was eating healthy food so….it won’t matter, right??

Image

 

So it DID matter.  Likely I would have experienced soreness after my race but I’m PRETTY sure that the sugar content in these drinks definitely INCREASED my discomfort… Live and learn, right?? The more interesting thing is that I DID NOT experience an increase in sugar cravings over the few days following these drinks. That tells me that my brain/body have made a shift.  Sugar is a bonus. A treat. Not a daily necessity or even a weekly thing.  I DO have the control. I CHOSE to drink the Pellegrino plus orange.  I CHOSE to skip dessert at the BBQ.  I win.

 

Kinda funny that there’s a cupcake on here but I ultimately came to this conclusion Sunday. Be grateful for what my body CAN do instead of what it CAN’T or DIDN’T do. Some days are gonna be better than others – and that applies to exercise, relationships, living, EVERYTHING.  Roll with it…

 

Image

 

 

I INTENDED (and trained and prayed) to run my half marathon in less than 2 hours.  My ACTION was that I DID run MY race and did my BEST.  And I’m grateful for Dawn, my friends, my clients, my body and my tenacity.

Image

 

Now, I will give myself about a week and a half to chill out, recover and figure out my next goal!! What do you think I should do??

Leave a Reply

