Coach Kimmie’s Half Marathon Training Plan

So when I decided I was going to train for another 1/2 marathon (WTF?!!), I determined I’d do it very differently than any of my previous distance endeavors. I was going to train for SPEED and with my OWN self-created plan! A distance goal is great but what about having a “time” goal as well? My previous 1/2 marathons have all been at least 2 hours 15 minutes to 2 hours 45 minutes in length. My goal is to finish this race in under 2 hours!!!

Traditional running programs/plans have us running 3, 4, sometimes 5 days + per week and maybe, JUST MAYBE 1 strength/cross training session and possibly a hint of selfcare activities like bodywork or rest.  I’ve done this in the past (because that’s what everyone says you should do!) and I usually 1) got injured 2) got burned out or 3) changed the plan about halfway through the training.  So it was high-time I made a change because I cannot afford to 1) get injured 2) get injured or 3) get injured!!

My week of training looks a little like this…

Monday & Wednesday are really long work days so it’s a no-training day. I aim to do a few simple core exercises, some light stretching and some specific Yoga Tune Up® therapy ball rolling. (www.yogatuneup.comhttp://instagram.com/p/kgA3XlrCkd/

Tuesday is a shorter work day (plus a big amount of administrative duties) so I do either sprint intervals OR a strength training session in our garage “gym”. Squat, lunge, plank varieties plus specific ab & upper body exercises are the foundations I build my strength sessions on. Sometimes I mix a lower body strength exercise with a short sprint. Example: weighted squat paired with a 30 second sprint then 30-60 second recovery

ImageImage

Thursday is my day “off” at Kinesis. No clients and I try to NOT do any work-related activities. (yeah right!!)  Thursday mornings I take an indoor spinning class and sometimes do a smaller strength session prior.  I also will occasionally use this day for my LONG RUN DAY depending on what my Saturday is like. Each week, I add between .5 and 1.0 miles to my last longest run.

Fridays I start work at 6am and finish between 3 and 5pm. If I have some leftover energy, I MIGHT squeeze in a 30 minute VERY specific lower body strength session. I do movements that really fire up my Posterior Chain. I LOVE working the back of my body! If you’ve worked out with me, you KNOW I’m all about Lats and Butts 🙂

Image

I also toss in a little plyometric work. Jumping, hopping, jumprope, box jumps, etc. http://instagram.com/p/ktCyMRrCm5/ Image

Saturdays are my preferred ‘LONG RUN DAY’. This is tricky because I work 8-12 and it’s usually kinda warm/hot after 12noon. However, after this last weekend’s Los Angeles Marathon HEATWAVE, I have zero room to complain! After an 8-10 minute general warm up, I usually take the first mile to settle into my run & get into my groove.  Miles 2, 3, 4 are usually fairly comfortable and I’m trying to run at a quicker pace the 2nd half of each mile than the first. **speed** remember?? So far, miles 4, 5, 6 have gone ok. I’ve only run up to 7 miles at this point. I have to really keep my mental game on cue or I’ll start losing focus. And I refuse to get in my own way! http://instagram.com/p/kyNBXmLCtf/ The #HTFU brand of clothing REALLY helps me stay mentally “right”! http://store.htfu.com/Reality_Check_by_HTFU_p/ss038.htm

Sundays – oh Sunday!!! I LOVE Sundays. I usually do another spin class and try to devote the rest of the day to rest, friends and other things that just make me feel rejuvenated and relaxed so as I move back into my week, I’m on track!

So that’s that. I just thought y’all might be interested in how I create my goals, my workout plans and to know I’m working hard JUST LIKE YOU… More to come as I progress through the training towards the Mountains2Beach 1/2 marathon in Ojai late May!!

Image~Coach Kimmie

Leave a Reply

