What does “badass” look like??

So last week I received a very nice compliment from someone I have always admired and respected in the fitness world but unfortunately have been disconnected from for awhile.  After sweating my everything off during her class, she says something to the effect of (and pardon my general quotery) “Wow Kim. I don’t remember you ever having been such a beast on the bike! You look so strong!” After a very brief moment of (ohmygodisshetalkingtome?!) hesitation, I said “Thank you. The last 4 years have made me a very different person from what you knew before.”  And well, those few words got me to thinkin’…. (see below insert – random pic of brain cells – cool huh??)

464d6b193c876569f4bf75e3bb945e8e

What constitutes “badass”, “beast”, “strong”, “fierce”, “amazing” or any other word that embodies gumption or oomph with regard to a person’s performance or persona? And do these things even have a “look” or an actual word that really encompasses what that really, truly is?

Mirror, mirror on the wall. Who is the badassiest of them all? Or are they each, in their own right, uneffingbelievable?

4b4b203d965ad9812cbca019c3d93bbd

1d044cc82c85d0dfcda4a8154ec159f9d5d1377142033fce761788ac7f94137385ffd8c30c3812cbd4959bf0f8b53d0618c0040baf51786dea5096bd61f85b2e281be221ee2df46aac24d0f593f475da

8846874f835c8a04c84259dd549407d8

cefb26cec53d485372e9290e9d11f682

I just wonder what it is that makes you look at or think of someone as being a “WOW” person. I also had to really think what it was that was different about me/had changed during the 4-5 years since I had really connected with this person.                               *2007-2009 was the timeframe I was dealing with Mom’s cancer and her passing.  This time of my life has forever changed me. I will always be in awe of how many emotions can pass through a person during this experience.                                                               *2008 was the year Dawn and I got married plus spent an entire season outrigger canoeing (all of that pretty badass in and of itself!)                                                                                       *August of 2012 I turned 35, (had an outrageous and fabulous karaoke party!!!) and we, plus many others, lost our jobs the next day. This was a hallmark opportunity of sink or swim. I am forever grateful for the clients, friends and chances that came my way during September/October/November/December 2012.                                               *2011-2012 I also trained for and ran the LA Marathon with my friend Jennifer. It was DOUBLY exciting because this would be Dawn’s first marathon ever as well! I had run LAM previously but this experience was for my friend. What a HUGE difference training for something like that because you want to help/support/be there for someone else!!                                 *January 2012, Kinesis opened and we’ve been working hard since then to nurture and help the “baby” grow. These 2 years have been hard but amazing all at the same time. I’ve grown as a person, as a teacher and as a spouse.

So, I guess in my own eyes and as hard as it is to say it out loud, I am badass. But really only because of this:

88e4e7c78d194242f764086275dc4319

Yes! Being your true authentic self is badassery in it’s finest form!

Feel free to comment away and tell me what you think!!

~Coach Kimmie

4 thoughts on “What does “badass” look like??

  1. Another great read from my favorite Coach Kimmie! I totally agree with your conclusion, “Yes! Being your true authentic self is badassery in it’s finest form!” I see and hear a true authentic self in the badass you are and I am inspired by you in my quest to be my badass self.:)

Leave a Reply

