Who’s the real Biggest Loser?

I’ve held back my thoughts around this last Biggest Loser finale. But here goes… I’ve been a fan of the show for a long time for various reasons. 1) I love seeing new exercise moves & equipment on the show. 2) I was a fan of Jillian Michaels for a long while. Not so much now but that’s a different blog. 3) I really love Bob Harper and I’m glad he finally came out. Jeez. 4) Despite it being a competition for money and a TV show, I still believe the show creates huge changes in the contestants’ lives and definitely has the possibility to motivate people at home.

Unfortunately, like committing to ANY lifestyle change for a set period of time, there’s always the problems with coming back to ‘real life’. I would love to believe that all the contestants from BL have kept off or at least somehow maintained their weight losses.  I’m pretty sure that’s not the case. I don’t know the percentages of weight lost/maintained/regained but I’m sure the internet could tell us… Jennipher Walters of FitBottomedGirls (@fitbottomedgirl) writes an article about that here: http://www.shape.com/blogs/shape-your-life/will-seasons-biggest-loser-contestants-keep-weight This makes me think about all the times in my life I’ve gained/lost/gained/lost weight.

Here’s Rachel Frederickson’s before and after shots.  She started at 260 pounds and is 5’4″.  At the finale she weighed 105 pounds. That’s a 60% weight loss in about 7 months.  If she weren’t on the show, a weight loss of 1-2, maybe 3 pounds per week would be the “good” way to drop pounds. To lose 155 pounds would then take approximately 77 weeks (18 months). Hmmm? Granted, contestants on the show are given a stocked & healthy kitchen, are medically examined, are given strict guidelines on nutrition and exercise habits, have no job except to workout and be “on the show”, have personal trainers at the ready plus have a great gym, a pool and lots of outdoor space to use.  These contestants are also coming from EXTREMELY unhealthy lifestyles so ANY major change in diet OR exercise would make a huge difference immediately.  Hmmm…

Rachel comparisonth

e7aa859e9bcb2f9d2d1270e543e02504

Biggest Loser may “tweak” the show and add more contestant support? http://www.inquisitr.com/1129242/the-biggest-loser-considering-tweaking-after-rachel-fredericksons-weight-loss-controversy/ Really?

This is a photo of Season 13 contest Kim Neilson at her finale. There is definitely a difference between weight loss and being fit and strong-looking. Comparing she and Rachel’s after photos will definitely be different but Kim was also a professional wrestler prior to being on the show. Hmmm…

74698_4112950226566_1367484946_33785174_1527505765_n

e20929f842dc96300ae6871d07264887

Oh Jillian and Bob… I love you guys but I don’t think either of you handled this situation very well.

Bob and Jillian have distanced themselves from Rachel’s weight loss journey, despite working on the show, releasing a joint statement in a post on Facebook. “Jillian and I want to take a moment to congratulate all of the BL contestants on their hard work,” it read. “We’re not comfortable commenting on Rachel’s journey because we weren’t her trainers and weren’t given an opportunity to work with her at any point. Any questions about the contestants on The Biggest Loser should be directed to the show’s producers.”

Dolvett, on the other hand, at least addressed how this journey can be a roller coaster… Dolvett posted on Instagram: “Last night’s Biggest Loser Finale has sparked a huge reaction and I do not want the day to end without addressing it. Biggest Loser is a journey which has its ups and downs. Please try not to look at one slice of Rachel’s journey and come to broad conclusions. Rachel’s health is and always has been in my main concern and her journey to good health has not yet ended!!”

And Rachel’s quote:  “I think that with my journey, I truly found the person I want to be, so it’s about the lifestyle for me,” the Reality World reports.  Read more at http://www.entertainmentwise.com/news/140488/Biggest-Loser-Stands-By-Winner-Rachel-As-Jillian-Michaels-And-Bob-Harper-Distance-Themselves#wGAus2C4YDfmAx45.99

Here’s another article I found surrounding this recent “controversy” from a woman who found herself in a similar situation as a young dancer.  CNN article from S.E.Cupp (dancer): http://www.cnn.com/2014/02/10/opinion/cupp-biggest-loser-been-there/index.html

So where do I stand on this whole thing? Who is the REAL Biggest Loser? I think we are. The general public falling prey to the ease of slurry social media posts and diving in the rabbit hole of horrific finger-pointing. Rachel worked hard to lose her weight – no doubt at all! I believe she was fortunate to have the opportunities from the BL.  I say we don’t need to judge ANYONE. For ANYTHING. We are all on our own journeys and there will be ups and downs along the way. Let’s support each other, love each other, live to help each other — rather than the opposite…

~Coach Kimmie’s 2-cents’

One thought on “Who’s the real Biggest Loser?

  1. Didn’t follow the show when I had a tv, and not much interested in seeing if it’s available online. The following opinion you can therefore feel free to take with a huge grain of salt. 🙂

    My concern with a show like this is overall health and sustainability. I lost 70 pounds on Jenny Craig back in the late 1980s–I think almost any overweight person can lose weight on a severely restricted meal plan. What their program didn’t do, and I’m not sure it even had this as one of its goals, was teach me how to deal with real food in a realistic manner. Not to mention exercise, which I don’t recall them doing except perhaps peripherally.

    Because I wasn’t moving any more than usual (no sustainable exercise plan in place), when I stopped buying the program’s prepackaged (utterly dull) food and went back to “real” food, I started putting weight on again. And since I didn’t learn anything helpful about making nutritionally sound food choices…

    Well. Instead of using the weight loss I achieved through their program as a springboard to a truly healthier life, I gained back every pound I lost, and then some. And as you point out, in the case of this show, the contestants are pretty much living it 24/7–there is no other life for the duration, so finding a way to translate the beneficial aspects of the show back into day-to-day reality must be a huge challenge. One not everyone can manage, probably.

    So, yeah. I suppose it makes for good tv, but I’m not sure how good it is for sustainable long-term health.

Leave a Reply

