It might get controversial up in here!! ~Coach Kimmie

Aye aye aye!! You’re right. There are so many options out there about ‘how to eat’.

Paleo, Primal, Low Carb/High Fat, just Low Carb, Gluten-free, Ketogenic diet, Intermittent Fasting, Vegetarian, Vegan, Atkins, Dukan, and if you look at this link to Wikipedia, you’ll see so many more that I had NO IDEA about… http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_diets

ImageImageImage

YIKES! YEESH! REALLY? HOLY SMOKES! GOOD GRIEF (Charlie Brown)!!

So here’s the thing. Thankfully, I don’t have any disease, diagnosis or glaring health problem that DEMANDS I eat a certain way.        Like I said, thankfully. Otherwise, I’m positive I’d be overly diligent in my nutritional choices. Or, if I really wanted to lean myself down and drop some serious fat, I’d make different choices.

******You’re currently entering a no-judgment zone!!*****

But…Coach Kimmie likes to eat. And drink. And fortunately or unfortunately, relates some of these things to a certain level of comfort and happiness…. 

See pic below for my “happy face”…

Image So, does that tell you anything more about my habits? Maybe not.

Here you go. Since Dawn has Celiac disease + a dairy intolerance and does 99.9% of our cooking at home, we are definitely a gluten, grain, legume, dairy-free household (goat cheese is ok for Dawn). We also leave refined sugars alone. Does this mean I NEVER eat gluten or grains or beans or swiss cheese or gummy bears? No. Does this mean I feel AMAZING when I eat those things? Also no.       I certainly have some type of “symptom” post-gluten/grain/cheese/legume/corn/sugar consumption. Why? Maybe because I eat it on such a limited basis. Maybe because I have a little intolerance. Does it matter? A symptom is a symptom is a…you get the idea.

Since being diagnosed, Dawn has found so many tasty & creative ways to make our foods more interesting. Crockpots with fun flavorful seasonings, baked and roasted veggies in yummy stuff and varieties of the same items just cooked differently.  She understands how I need different flavors and different food choices. She could (I think) eat the same stuff on a daily basis over and over.  I do not manage well with that plan!  And yes, on occasion when we go out to a restaurant, I will have the bread or the chips or the whatever. I try to be very thoughtful and order something I know she’d NEVER eat. Two of her faves are the dark brown bread at Cheesecake Factory or a warm, fat salted pretzel.  These are things she still “misses” but we have found replacements. Sage Bistro in Culver City has a really tasty gluten-free warm pretzel on their menu. Rising Hearts Bakery has gluten and dairy free pumpernickel loaf. Sinners and Saints Bakery has a plethora of sweet treats that are gluten free and some even Paleo! Check out their web links below….

http://www.sinnersandsaintsdesserts.com

http://sageveganbistro.com/locations.html

http://www.risingheartsbakery.com

Ultimately, we are in charge of ourselves. If I choose to eat some of the not-so-great-stuff, I’ll have to pay some type of a price.       Gain weight, suffer from gastrointestinal symptoms, feel poofy, decrease my athletic performance or just feel guilty. If I can’t pronounce an ingredient or don’t know what it is, I LIKELY shouldn’t and probably won’t eat it.  I make thoughtful choices instead of spur-of-the-moment choices. Perfection is not something I strive for in ANY aspect of my life. I strive for health & fitness. I strive for feeling good about myself daily. I strive to be a good person, teacher, instructor, wife, friend and parent (to Rocksie, Jackson, and Abbey…the 4-leggeds!) And I firmly believe my food choices should not dictate the status of ANY of these (MOST IMPORTANT TO ME) things.

Let’s eat real, whole, good-tasting foods and enjoy them…and not “subscribe” to anything.

What do YOU think???

Image

4 thoughts on “It might get controversial up in here!! ~Coach Kimmie

  1. Your blog posts are easy to relate to! Like having a friend you talk to when feeling alone with your struggles, then you talk to that friend and remember “I am human.” Thank you for sharing with us clients,students, friends!

Leave a Reply

