Gratitude, Hard Times and a Sweet, Strong Friend…

I know I’ve been pushing everyone to make donations to the St. Joseph’s holiday Donation drive at Kinesis lately. But there’s a huge reason.  A really-close-to-my-heart reason…

Look at these numbers. LOOK. AT. THEM.

3.5 million Americans are homeless each year.

Did you know that 1/5th of America’s homeless population is in California? (that’s about 700,000 people)

About 39% of the total homeless population is made up of children under the age of 18.

I sit on my couch with my computer, my blanket, my cute dogs and my warm dinner. I am lucky. But a very short series of a couple wrong moves could have possibly left me in the same predicament as Syd. I realize I’ve been blessed. http://embracinghomelessness.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/blanket-2/

Other interesting numbers…

Education:

34% have a High School diploma or equivalent (G.E.D.).

28% have more than a High School education.

38% have less than a High School diploma.

Employment:

44% report having worked in the past week.

13% have regular jobs.

50% receive less than $300 per month as income.

70% work on street corners, pan-handling or prostituting themselves.

Marital Status:

24% are married

76% are single

67.5% are single males

32.5% are single females

And all of these numbers…they’re on the rise here in California.

Be careful when clicking “Like”…http://embracinghomelessness.wordpress.com/2012/08/02/funny/#more-64

I realize we can’t “fix” everything or everyone, but we CAN do little things as often as possible to make a difference. Just like with exercise and self-care, small things repeated over and over can make a huge difference…

Stepping into gratitude and the sunlight. http://embracinghomelessness.wordpress.com/2013/09/27/difference/#more-126

I will forever be of a different mindset and am a changed person. Thank you for sharing your story, Syd. Much love and respect…

And thank YOU, if you’ve read to the end of this. I hope you have a wonderful holiday season and the best new year yet. And I really hope you “got” this. “Felt” this. “Heard” this.  ~Coach Kimmie

2 thoughts on “Gratitude, Hard Times and a Sweet, Strong Friend…

  1. Awwwww, man…this is NOT what I thought you meant when you said you wanted to link to a couple of my posts. ***teary-eyed***

    And you are one of the reasons I was able to survive as well as I did. From the bottom of my heart, Kim, thank you.

Leave a Reply

