No Slackers Allowed!

BY: DR DAWN

Is it just me or this a difficult time of year to keep motivated? It doesn’t take much these days to throw me off my schedule and once off schedule it’s a short quick hop to “I need to clean the house”, “I need to decorate for the holidays”, “I need to walk the dogs” etc…

Do not get me wrong. I love to swim and bike and run! It just seems much easier lately for other aspects of my life to interfere with my organized training routine. And then there’s the weather! Fog and rain are not only uninvited guests for a long ride or long run but downright dangerous for cycling.

One thing I have discovered: if I can motivate myself to take the first swim stroke, the first bike pedal, or the first run step, I am never sorry. I always feel better, more empowered, more in control by the end of my workout no matter how hard it is! A smile takes over my entire face! It was worth the effort!

My smile at the end of a 6 mile run!

I have been spending more time than usual to keep myself motivated on a daily basis.

Here are a few of my current favorite motivational sayings:

People often say motivation doesn’t last. Neither does bathing – that’s why we recommend it daily ~ Zig Zigler

Your attitude, not your aptitude, will determine your altitude ~ Zig Zigler

Success isn’t a result of spontaneous combustion. You must set yourself on fire ~ A Glasow

Sometimes when things are falling apart, they may actually be falling into place ~ Unknown

Never underestimate what you can accomplish when you believe in yourself. Never give up ~ Unknown

The journey of a thousand miles (or 140.6) begins with a single step ~ Lao Tzu

I also spend more time on self care to nurture my body:

Yoga Tune Up® Therapy Balls, Foot Wakers, Yoga block and strap, Yoga mat, KinesioTex Tape

My go to overall body realignment posture.

What do you do to keep motivated?

One thought on “No Slackers Allowed!

Leave a Reply

