Life’s greatest moments…

By: V Capaldi

July 10, 2012 will forever be known as one of the greatest days of my life!  During my morning meditation I suddenly was overcome with a joy and an inner peace that brought me to tears.  Startled by my emotions, yet allowing for them, I sat realizing that for the 1st time since 1986 fear  has left my being!  No longer on the edge of my seat waiting, fearful of what plan MS has in store for me.

Having a disease that is relentless at reminding me of its power to control my body whenever and however it wants has been my reality for longer in my life than without.  Every morning when I wake reminded of its power the moment I open my eyes.  If I am lucky enough to see when I wake up (MS has taken my vision on many occasions) then I take an inventory of what moves, what works, what I can feel.  Once that process is complete I wonder if I can get myself up and out of bed. Will my feet work and allow me to walk?  Will they have pain like they often do?  Will I feel the floor? Can my legs hold me?  Will they lift so that I can walk?  Once they lift will they go back down?

So how did such an intense fear leave my being?  I believe with 100% certainty this is a result of really LIVING MY BEST LIFE!  Fear was present because all I focused on was what I would lose to MS, what MS would change and when it would change my life. When I became disabled I knew I was not living my best life.  Consciously I have worked hard to make living my best life reality.  Living your best life offers a life that MS or death cannot change because you are truly living!  LIVING has no fear.  Namaste.

Tecumseh (Shawnee) Vision Statement:

“Live your life that the fear of death can never enter your heart. Trouble no one about their religion; respect others in their view, and demand that they respect yours. Love your life, perfect your life.

Beautify all things in your life. Seek to make your life long and its purpose in the service of your people. Prepare a noble death song for the day when you go over the great divide. Always give a word or a sign of salute when meeting or passing a friend, even a stranger, when in a lonely place. Show respect to all people and bow to none. When you arise in the morning, give thanks for the food and for the joy of living. If you see no reason for giving thanks, the fault lies only in yourself.

Abuse no one and no living thing, For abuse turns the wise ones to fools and robs the spirit of its vision. When it comes to your time to die, be not like those whose hearts are filled with the fear of death, so that when their time comes they weep and pray for a little more time to live their lives over again in a different way. Sing your death song and die like a hero going home.”

taken from: http://www.awakening360.com/home/activity/221

One thought on “Life’s greatest moments…

Leave a Reply

