Taper Time?!?

By: Dr. Dawn DPT

Well, Ironman 70.3 Vineman is almost here!

I have trained diligently for the past 3-3.5 months with ever increasing mileage and intensity. My time commitment to my training has lengthened weekly in proportion to the lengths of my swims, rides, and runs. My brain and body are now programmed to go long, go hard, or go home… and then last week came along. I looked at my training plan several times in sheer disbelief! Yes… the swims, rides, and runs were all still there, but the times were cut tremendously. I actually had a ride and run “brick” on Saturday and was home before 11am! This week leading up to the race is even lighter.

I must say it’s a little scary NOT training so much in the 2 weeks leading up to the race. I am told that the taper portion of the training plan is just as important as the build so that you can attack the race with a well-rested and well-fueled body and mind. I will let you know how that works in my next post! This is the first race in which I have ever actually adhered to a taper plan. Usually, I am behind in my training and pushing it right up until race week. Wish me luck!

You can follow my progress on race day, Sunday July 15 2012, if you are so inclined. Go to Ironman.com and click on the RED button in the top right corner that says “Live Race Coverage”. Choose Vineman 70.3 and look me up by name or race number – Dawn McCrory #1176. The system will give you my race splits. If a race split isn’t listed, I haven’t crossed that check point yet.

My dream goal race splits: Swim 0:40 Bike 3:15 Run 2:10.

They will also list my transition times. T1 is the time it takes me to get into the transition area from the swim, take off my wet suit, don my cycling gear, and get me and my bike out of transition and onto the ride. T2 is the time it takes me to get into transition from the bike, rack my bike and take off cycling gear, don my running shoes and fuel belt, and get out of transition onto the run. My T times are notoriously slow. Please don’t judge! And no I am not grabbing a cocktail for the road!

My dream goal T times: T1 0:04 T2 0:02

Total dream goal for this race: 6hrs 20min

And yes I am definitely having a cocktail after the race! Cheers!!

One thought on “Taper Time?!?

  1. So excited for you Dawn! I know you’ve put in the hours and dedication for this race and beyond, and you will be rewarded with not only a fun, enjoyable race, but a great time 🙂

Leave a Reply

