Road to IRONMAN New Zealand 2013

By: Dr. Dawn DPT

“And then the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was greater than the risk it took to bloom.” ~ Anais Nin

Okay folks, it has begun asI have signed up for Ironman New Zealand 2013! Officially in training for an Ironman because when you take such a leap make it count or don’t bother!  Make it so huge you cannot deny that it will be a challenging, rewarding and life-changing experience!

Nervous thoughts keep circling my mind.  Can I get in enough training with my busy work schedule? Will my body hold up under the stress of the training and workload? Will my bike make it to NZ in race ready condition? Is getting there on Tuesday enough time to deal with jet lag before a Saturday race? Can I figure out my nutrition for 2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike, and 26.2 mile run without getting sick of gels and energy chews? What actually happens in those changing tents? Can I swim, run and ride in completely different outfits? Should I? What do I wear under my wetsuit so I don’t flash the wetsuit strippers? Will the weather be cooperative?  I am definitely excited and New Zealand has been on my travel list for many years. So with all this nervous excitement, my long road to Ironman New Zealand has begun!

Week 1 (April 5-12) training:

 Thursday morning:    Hill repeat run with LATC TriChicks

Friday afternoon:     1500m swim in a pool for the first time in months.

Saturday morning:     52 miles on bike climbing the Santa Monica Canyons for the 1st time in months!

Sunday morning:      Coach Kimmie’s FUN FIT class for strength training.

Monday afternoon:   Bodywork session at Kinesis

Tuesday morning:     5 miles on the treadmill with intervals & private yoga at Kinesis.

Wednesday morning: Power interval ride on my bike trainer.

Thursday morning:   Lazy run with the dogs on tired legs from interval ride  

It will be a very busy schedule, but as a physical therapist, I know the importance of a good body support system: flexibility training, strength training, bodywork, and self myofascial release are essential in addition to all of the swimming, biking, and running! If I don’t have the time or the resources to do all the support work for injury resistance, I have no business doing long distance endurance events!  I feel great! I feel alive! Let’s do this thing!

“Follow your bliss and the universe will open doors for you where there were only walls” ~ Joseph Campbell

 

2 thoughts on “Road to IRONMAN New Zealand 2013

Leave a Reply

