Transformations

By: Dr. Dawn DPT

I am proud to share with you that I finished the Los Angeles Marathon, my first, on Sunday, March 18th. The enormity of that fact is made grander by the idea that this statement implies I will be running another marathon at some point in my life, most likely as the last leg of an Ironman distance triathlon. I used to say people who run marathons and compete in long distance triathlons are crazy! So, how did I become one of the crazys?!? I asked myself this question throughout the course of the marathon last Sunday. Here’s the answer that came to me like an epiphany while passing mile marker 21.

Three and a half years ago I completed my first triathlon. It was a sprint distance event. After knee surgery in December 2008, I worked my way back to an Olympic distance triathlon competition in September 2009. I placed near last or last in my age group at every event, but I caught the triathlon bug and wanted to do better!

I changed my diet. I changed my workouts. I gathered people in my corner– nutritionist, trainer, supportive spouse, and inspirational friends. My body composition changed dramatically as I became focused on my health and fitness. Then I realized that, as a physical therapist, I had been a poor role model for my clients. I pushed others to push themselves but never really pushed my own limits. In 2010, now 40 pounds lighter, I had podium finishes in both my Olympic distance triathlons and completed my first 1/2 Ironman (1.2 mile swim, 56 mile bike, 13.1 mile run). Not only did I survive, I was thriving!

Summer, 2011 I signed up for my first marathon, began considering a full Ironman (2.4 mile swim, 112 mile bike, 26.2 mile run), and decided to start a new business adventure. Now I understand that pushing the limits of possibility is an incredibly invigorating place from which to experience life! I push myself, I push my clients, and they push me. Together we push the boundaries of possibilities.

I have made movement my medicine and I’m all the better for it. I encourage everyone to push their perceived limits in whatever way they see fit! I support and salute you! We can do anything we set our minds to do… change  diets, open businesses, run marathons, and complete Ironmans!

Get out there and transform yourselves!! Make me proud… but more importantly, make you proud!

Here’s a recipe for my favorite new treat (my old favorite was a dark chocolate bar, brie cheese, and a glass of red wine!)

 INGREDIENTS:

1 ½ cups pecans (or your favorite nut – raw and unsalted)

1 cup fresh pitted dates

½ cup almond butter (I like Trader Joe’s Almond and Flaxseed Butter)

2 TBS cacao powder (raw and organic)

Pinch of sea salt to taste

INSTRUCTIONS:

Grind ½ cup pecans and set aside

Put 1 cup pecans and the rest of the ingredients into a food processor

Mix until blended well

Roll into small balls (about 12-18 depending on the size)

Roll balls in ½ cup ground up pecans

Place on cookie sheet

Chill in fridge for at least an hour

YUMALICIOUS!!

Leave a Reply

